Daniel winners

2023 Daniel Recipient

Kristen Althouse
PA Turfgrass Association

Kristen Althouse began her career in the sports field management industry as a student member of the association. She attended the annual conference and participated in the student challenge. She earned both her Bachelor of Science in Turfgrass Science and her Master of Education in Agricultural and Extension Education from Pennsylvania State University. Kristen began working for STMA/SFMA in 2008 and she was the face and name for STMA/SFMA Education for over 12 years. There are many people that are well known for their education and research efforts in the sports field industry, but you would be hard pressed to find a more nationally known person than Kristen when it comes to sports field education.

Kristen played a key role in the top-notch continuing education provided by SFMA at the annual conference. She dedicated many years to conference education and student challenge programs to support our current members and recruit a new generation of students into the profession. She also worked hard to create several documents for the Association, most recently she worked to create the baseball management document, writing it, and ensuring it was high quality. Kristen also designed the Turfgrass Curriculum that is used for the SFM 101 program during her 12-year tenure as SFMA’s Education Manager. Her quiet knowledge of speakers and quality education ensured our members stay on top of the latest information and her written works are all over our organization’s website for people to learn more about how to safely manage athletic fields. Kristen Althouse is certainly deserving of the Dr. William Daniel Award.

Dr. William H. Daniel Award Winners

YearAward Winner
2023Kristen Althouse, PA Turfgrass Council
2022Dr. Cale Bigelow, Purdue University
2021Dr. Nick Christians, Iowa State University
2020Bradley Jakubowski, Instructor of Plant Sciences, Penn State
2019Victoria Wallace, University of Connecticut
2018Pam Sherratt, Ohio State University (OH)
2017James Brosnan, Ph.D., University of Tennessee (TN)
2016Jason Kruse, Ph.D., University of Florida (KY)
2015Mary Owens, University of Massachusetts (MA)
2014Brian Scott, Mt. San Antonio College, Walnut (CA)
2013Dr. Brad Fresenburg, University of Missouri-Columbia (MO)
2012Dr. Beth Guertal, Auburn University (AL)
2011Dr. Leah Brilman, Seed Research of Oregon (OR)
2010John Sorochan, Ph.D., University of Tennessee (TN)
2009Tony Koski, Ph.D., Colorado State University (CO)
2008Grady Miller, Ph.D., North Carolina State University (NC)
2007Michael Goatley, Jr., Ph.D., Turfgrass Specialist, Virginia Tech University (VA)
2006James McAfee, Ph.D., Extension Turfgrass Specialist, Texas A&M (TX)
2005Jeff Fowler, Penn State Cooperative Extension (PA)
2004A.J. Powell, Jr., Ph.D., University of Kentucky (KY)
2003Pam Sherratt, Ohio State University (OH)
2002Eric Adkins, CSFM, Michigan State University (MI)
2001Coleman Ward, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, Auburn University (AL)
2000Andrew McNitt, Ph.D., Penn State University (PA)
1999Donald Waddington, Ph.D., Penn State University (PA)
1998Steve Cockerham, University of California/Riverside (CA)
1997James Beard, Ph.D., International Sports Turf Institute (TX)
1996Kent Kurtz, Ph.D., (deceased) Cal Poly Pomona (CA)
1994Dave Minner, Ph.D., Iowa State University (IA)
1993John N. “Trey” Rogers, III, Ph.D., Michigan State University (MI)
1992Henry Wilkinson, Ph.D., University of Illinois (IL)
1991Steve Cockerham, University of California/Riverside (CA)

(Note: The William H. Daniel Award was known as the Excellence in Research Award prior to 1997.)

* Facility listed is where employed at time of award. Check Roster for current listing