SAFE Scholarship and Grants

Applications for SAFE Scholarships and Grants are open! The deadline to submit is Oct. 15.

SFMA’s scholarships for those in turfgrass management programs include named scholarships: The Dr. James Watson, sponsored by The Toro Co. and The Fred Grau, funded by The SAFE Foundation. Depending upon funding availability, SAFE may award additional scholarships. The Darian Daily Legacy Scholarship is for members’ children and stepchildren (or if the member is a legal guardian) who are not pursuing a career in the green industry.

NEW in 2022!
This year, SAFE is offering a new scholarship, the Paul Zwaska Scholarship, presented by Beacon Athletics. The Paul Zwaska Scholarship, presented by Beacon Athletics, promotes diversity within the profession through an annual scholarship program for students from groups underrepresented in SFMA.

SFMA’s grants include the Leo Goertz Membership grant, sponsored by Pioneer Athletics, which provides a complimentary two-year national membership to someone who has not been a member for five years. The Gary Vanden Berg Internship grant provides reimbursement to a deserving SFMA student member who has fulfilled an internship. The Terry Mellor Continuing Education grant is awarded to a chapter member to cover the costs to come to the SFMA national conference.

View more information about all available SAFE scholarships and find the application forms here.

View more information about all available SAFE grants and find the application forms here.