Ericson winners

2023 Ericson Recipient

Bill Marbet
Line to Line, LLC

Bill Marbet has been involved in many parts of the industry since the mid-90s. When it comes to baseball and softball fields in the Southeast, very few people have had the same impact on raising the bar as Bill Marbet. What started as a love for the game and  volunteering to maintain his children’s ballfields grew into several businesses and opportunities related to providing safe and great playing sports fields. He has had a hand in the careers of so many people in the profession, whether it was advice, people looking for a job, or answering questions, he is always willing to help!

Bill is known for his passion and love for this industry and has mentored numerous other sports field managers through his association with state and local athletic associations, helping members of these crews to go on to become highly successful field managers throughout the country. Bill has been a big supporter of several SFMA chapters and turfgrass associations, having served on boards and providing sponsorships. In 2023, Bill was awarded the Tennessee Turfgrass Association’s Professional of the Year award and in 2022 was inducted into the TSSAA Hall of Fame. He embodies the Dick Ericson Founder’s Award through his dedication to improving sports fields, commitment to the industry through involvement and service, and being a leader in raising awareness and mentorship of sports field managers.

Previous Dick Ericson Award Recipients

YearPrevious Award Recipients
2023Bill Marbet, Line to Line, LLC
2022Weston Appelfeller, CSFM, Pioneer Athletics
2021Joshua McPherson, CSFM, St. Louis CITY SC
2020Marcus Dean, CSFM, Advanced Turf Solutions
2019Allen Johnson, CSFM, Green Bay Packers
2018Nicole Sherry, Baltimore Orioles, Baltimore (MD)
2017Paul Burgess, Real Madrid and Estadio Santiago Bernabeu
2016Tom Nielsen, Louisville Bats Baseball Club, Louisville (KY)
2015Michael Buras, CSFM, Longwood Cricket Club, Chestnut Hill (MA)
2014Tony Leonard, Philadelphia Eagles (PA)
2013Rich Watson, Pine Hill Schools, Sewell (NJ)
2012Amy Fouty, CSFM, Michigan State University Intercollegiate Athletics, East Lansing (MI)
2011Darian Daily, Paul Brown Stadium, Cincinnati (OH)
2010Mike Trigg, CSFM, Waukegan Park District, Waukegan (IL)
2009David Rulli, Jeffco Stadium, Lakewood (CO)
2008Mike Tarantino, Poway Unified School District, Poway (CA)
2007Donald Fowler, PSU Extension (Retired) (PA)
2006Mike McDonald, CSFM, Turf Manager, University of Minnesota (MN)
2005Floyd Perry, Owner, Grounds Maintenance Services, Orlando (FL)
2004Steve LeGros, GCA Service at the University of New Hampshire (NH)
2003Pat White, City of Hollywood (FL)
2002Eric Adkins, CSFM, Michigan State University (MI)
2001Heather Nabozny, Detroit Tigers (MI)
2000By Hanson, Jefferson County Public Schools (CO)
1999G.C. (George) Trivett, Granite Falls Middle School (NC)
1998Ross Kurcab, Denver Broncos (CO)
1997Merton Johnson, Cal State/Fullerton (CA)

* Facility listed is where employed at time of award. Check Directory for current listing