Innovative Awards Programs

SFMA Innovative Awards Program

SFMA recognizes that new technology and advancements in science, equipment, products and services continue to improve the sports turf management profession.  To acknowledge those companies that are leading the evolution of the industry, SFMA has created the Innovative Awards Program.

Who is eligible

  • Any SFMA Commercial member who is exhibiting at the upcoming SFMA Annual Conference and Exhibition.
  • The company must display the product, service or technology at the SFMA Exhibition.
  • One submittal per company is allowed annually.

To qualify

The product, equipment, service or technology must:

  • have been introduced for sale between the close of  the current year’s SFMA show and  the close of next year’s SFMA show.
  • substantially enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of the Sports Field Manager in the interest of making playing surfaces safer and more playable for athletes.

Due Date

  • Application is due Oct. 15th

Selection Process

  • A panel of SFMA non-commercial members representing all categories of membership will judge the entries.
  • In any given year, there may be one or more winners.
  • The panel of judges will give an award to those companies whose service, product, technology or equipment thoroughly meets the definition of innovative as described.

Notification and Recognition

  • Winner(s) will be kept confidential until announced during the first day of the trade show.
  • SFMA will recognize the winner(s) with:
  • a special announcement during the trade show
  • a special logo that the company can use in the promotion of the winning product, service, technology or equipment.
  • publicity via SFMA communication vehicles and conference press releases
  • special signage at the winner(s) booth(s) in the SFMA Exhibition.
  • verbal and visual recognition during the Annual SFMA Awards Banquet.

Deadline to submit is Oct. 15.

Applications will be available July 1st. Please email Whitney at  wwebber@sportsfieldmanagement.org. if you have any questions.

Previous Innovative Award Recipients

2024SGL Inc., STEC, Turf Tec
2023SGL Inc., Sports Labs
2022Covermaster, SGL Inc.,Turf Tec, Sports Labs
2021Esto Retractable and The Sports Turf Company
2020Pioneer Athletics and Field Turf
2019ECHO Robotics
2018The Perfect Mound
2017New Ground Technology
2016Royse Green Technologies
2015GT AirInject Inc.
2014None awarded
2013Green Source
2012G2 Turftools
2011Barenbrug USA
2011Bush Sports Turf
2011Sports Edge