Board Slate Finalized

Ballots to be sent Nov. 20

The SFMA Nominating Committee has set the Slate of Candidates for the 2018 Board of Directors elections. They will present the slate later this month via electronic ballot to the membership – complete with bios, vision statements and photos of those slated.

The Nominating Process is straightforward, guided by a timetable and process outlined in the Election SOP. Members interested in Board service are encouraged to submit a Volunteer Interest Form, complete with their vision for the future of the association. The Nominating Committee reviews all information and reaches out to those who submit to gather additional information and to provide information about the time commitment and expectations of board service. This information is subsequently discussed by the Committee and the slate is developed. All who are slated are contacted by the Committee to confirm final interest and those who are not slated are contacted and provided an explanation of why they were not slated.

The Nominating Committee works independently of the SFMA Board of Directors to avoid any appearance of favoritism. An electronic ballot is then created through an on-line software. That link is emailed to each voting member of SFMA and is unable to be forwarded. Results are automatically electronically compiled, and the Chair of the Nominating Committee is notified first of the voting results; next, the remainder of the Committee is notified, and then the Committee notifies the candidates — those who have advanced to the Board and those who did not. The new Board of Directors is presented to the membership at the Annual Meeting during the Conference. That meeting will be Thurs., Jan. 18, 2018 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Up for Election

For the Secretary/Treasurer, Weston Appelfeller, CSFM, Columbus Crew SC, Columbus, OH is slated versus Jimmy Simpson, CSFM, Town of Cary, Cary, NC.

In the Academic race, the candidates are Jason Kruse, Ph.D., University of Florida, Gainesville, FL and Brian Scott, Mt. San Antonio College, Walnut, CA.

James Bergdoll, CSFM, City of Chattanooga, TN and Nick Caggiano, City of Nashua, NH are contenders for the Director, Parks and Recreation position.

For the Director Higher Education contest, Joshua Koss, CSFM, San Diego State University and Nick McKenna, CSFM, Texas A&M Athletics, College Station, TX will be slated.

Matt Anderson, CSFM, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ and Rusty Walker, CSFM, City of Grapevine, TX are positioned in the Director-At Large Elected race.

Three positions will be appointed by the new 2018 President, Sarah Martin, CSFM, City of Phoenix. Those are: At-Large Appointed Director; Director – Professional Facilities; and Commercial Director.

The Committee slated current Commercial Director Boyd Montgomery, CSFM, CSE, The Toro Company, Bloomington, MN in the Commercial Vice President position. That position runs unopposed.

Current President Tim VanLoo, CSFM, Iowa State University, Ames, IA will move to Immediate Past President. Jody Gill, CSFM, Blue Valley School District, Overland Park, KS will move to President-Elect.

The K-12 Director is not up for election. Sun Roesslein, CSFM, Jeffco Schools, Golden, CO holds that position.