Deadlines Approaching – Apply by October 15th!

SFMA’s Innovative Awards Recognize Commercial Companies

Receive recognition from your peers by applying for the Innovative Awards. The Innovative Awards were established to honor our commercial members whose innovation has made the sports turf manager more effective or the playing surface safer. The prestigious award is typically given to one or more exhibitors at the SFMA Annual Conference. Our virtual conference will have an interactive trade show and any exhibitor that is participating is eligible to submit for this award.

Submit your innovation for recognition! It is easy and only has 3 requirements:

1) Be a commercial member of SFMA who is exhibiting at SFMA’s Annual Conference

2) Have introduced an innovative product, service or piece of equipment within 2 years of exhibiting

3) Fill out the short online application, which can be found here.

SFMA’s Field of the Year and SAFE Scholarship and Grant applications are also due on Oct. 15.

Field of the Year – Awarded to natural grass fields that exhibit excellent playability and safety and whose managers utilize innovative solutions, effectively use their budgets and have implemented a comprehensive agronomic program. Fields may be entered for the sports of baseball, softball, football, soccer and sporting grounds (non-mainstream sports such as lacrosse, rugby, horse racing tracks, etc.) These awards are given in three categories: schools/parks, colleges and universities and professional stadiums. Sponsored by Carolina Green Corp., Precision Laboratories, World Class Athletic Surfaces and John Deere

SAFE Turfgrass Scholarships – Awards are given to students who are pursuing turfgrass management or post-graduate research. Several of these are named in Dr. James Watson’s name and are completely funded by The Toro Company

SAFE non-Turfgrass Scholarship: The Darian Daily Legacy Scholarship – Named in honor of a legendary supporter of SFMA and SAFE and a family man, this scholarship is awarded to dependents of members who are pursing a field of academic study outside of the turfgrass industry.

Leo Goertz Membership Grant – Multiple grants are awarded to sports field managers or crew members who are not members of SFMA. This grant is generously supported by Pioneer Athletics.

Gary Vanden Berg Internship Grant – Named in honor of Gary Vanden Berg, CSFM, for his contributions to the industry in promoting internships, students who have interned are eligible to submit post-internship to augment their internship wages.

Terry Mellor Continuing Education Grant – This named grant provides funding for a SFMA chapter member to attend the SFMA annual conference. This grant is made possible through the support of Turface Athletics.

For more information and to apply click here.