Field of the Year Winners Announced

SFMA announces its 2021 “Field of the Year” winners, an award spotlighting the individuals and programs who excelled this year in providing quality, safe playing surfaces.

Every year, SFMA presents the industry’s highest honor to members who manage baseball, football, soccer, softball and other sporting playing surfaces at the professional, collegiate, schools (K-12) and parks and recreation levels. The 2021 winners are:


  • Baseball – Sahlen Field, Buffalo Bisons (Buffalo, NY): Kelly Rensel, CSFM
  • Soccer – Red Bull Arena, New York Red Bulls, (Harrison, NJ): Neal Sitzman

College and University

  • Football – Moncrief Field at Amon Carter Stadium, Texas Christian University (Fort Worth, TX): Andrew Siegel
  • Soccer – Garvey-Rosenthal Soccer Field, Texas Christian University (Fort Worth, TX): Andrew Siegel
  • Baseball Dudy Noble Field, Mississippi State University (Starkville, MS): Brandon Hardin
  • Softball – Rhoads Stadium, University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL): Jon DeWitt, CSFM
  • Sporting Grounds – Dorrance Field, University of North Carolina (Chapel Hill, NC): Casey Carrick, CSFM

Schools and Parks

  • Baseball – Norbrock Stadium, City of Kamloops (Kamloops, Canada): Mike DeCicco and Shawn Cook
  • Soccer Walsh Field, Pace Academy (Mableton, GA): Daniel Prince
  • Softball – Tournament Capital Ranch Slo-Pitch Field, City of Kamloops (Kamloops, Canada): Mike DeCicco and Shawn Cook
  • Sporting Grounds – Donald Lambert Field, Brentsville District High School (Nokesville, VA): Drew Miller, Turfgrass Management Students

Winners receive a complimentary registration to the annual SFMA conference, accommodations for three nights, signature clothing and a trophy for display. Also, each recipient will be highlighted in an upcoming issue of SportsField Management magazine.