SFMA Presents its 2021 Board of Directors

The 2021 Board of Directors was presented to the membership during the association’s annual meeting, which was held on Jan. 13 at the conclusion of the SFMA virtual conference and exhibition. Ballots were distributed to voting members in November, and the election results were known in mid-December, but they were not official until the annual meeting.

The 13-person Board has representation from all voting categories of membership: schools k-12, parks and recreation, professional stadiums, academia, higher education and commercial. Those elected include:

President Nick McKenna, CSFM
Asst. Athletic Field Maintenance Mgr., Texas A&M Athletics
College Station, TX

Immediate Past President Jimmy Simpson, CSFM
Facilities Coordinator, Town of Cary
Cary, NC

President-Elect James Bergdoll, CSFM
Director of Parks Maintenance, City of Chattanooga Public Works
Chattanooga, TN

Secretary/Treasurer Sun Roesslein, CSFM
Sports Stadium Manager, North Area Athletic Complex – Jeffco Schools
Golden, CO

Vice President – Commercial Jeremy Bohonko
Regional Manager, Ewing Irrigation and Landscape Supply
Charlotte, NC

Director – Schools K-12 Jeremy Driscoll
Grounds Supervisor, St. Mark’s High School
Wilmington, DE

Director – Professional Facilities Nicole Sherry
Head Groundskeeper, Baltimore Orioles
Baltimore, MD

Director – Commercial Paula Sliefert
Sr. Marketing Manager, The Toro Company
Bloomington, MN

Director – At Large Elected Scott Thompson, CSFM
Superintendent of Sports Fields and Grounds
Duke University, Durham, NC

During the SFMA Annual Meeting, President McKenna made the following appointments:

Director – At Large Appointed Alpha Jones, CSFM
Director of Field Operations, Fayetteville Woodpeckers
Fayetteville, NC

Director – Parks & Recreation Brad Thedens, CSFM
Park Caretaker, City of Sioux Falls Park & Rec
Sioux Falls, SD

Two Board members are serving the second year of their two-year term and were not up for election. They are:

Director – Higher Education Clark Cox, CSFM
University of South Carolina
Columbia, SC

Director – Academic Adam Thoms, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Iowa State University
Ames, IA

For board member biographies, click here.