Synthetic Turf Council announces 2019 Award winners

The Synthetic Turf Council’s Spring Membership Meeting, held March 11-13 in Seattle, attracted 161 individuals representing companies of all types in the synthetic turf industry, including manufacturers, suppliers, installers, landscape architects and engineers, testing labs, and maintenance equipment and service companies located throughout the world.

The membership meeting included a strong educational component. Concurrent breakout sessions focused on industry related topics, including Team Strategies for a Better Project, Hybrid Turf Systems, Regional Issues, Rooftop Applications, Using Technology for Collaboration and more. Discussions on environmental responsibility continued with closing general session presentations on Microplastics and Innovative Turf Recycling. Economist Lauren Saidel-Baker’s keynote address focused on the economic outlook for the synthetic turf industry and the global economy. Baker recommended that business strategies that should be undertaken now to maximize the profit potential in the years to come.

Shining a spotlight on industry excellence, innovation, and volunteerism, the Second Annual STC Awards were announced March 13. The STC Awards Program is a member program designed to honor STC members that help to promote the association’s values and advance the synthetic turf industry.

The 2019 STC Award Winners are:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Phil Stricklen, Turf Dr. Phil

Rookie of the Year Award: Matt Adkins, ForeverLawn West Texas

Volunteer of the Year Award: Donna Kent, ForeverLawn Inc.

Innovator Award: AstroTurf

Landscape Installation of the Year Award – Commercial: SYNLawn – Federal Government Project

Landscape Installation of the Year Award – Recreation: ForeverLawn, Inc. – Mary’s Magical Place

Landscape Installation of the Year Award – Residential: SYNLawn – Suze Orman’s Vacation Home

Landscape Installation of the Year Award – Specialty: ForeverLawn, Inc. – West Hollywood Dog Park

Sports Installation of the Year Award – Single Field under 75,000 sq. ft.: ForeverLawn, Inc. – Meadows Soccer Complex

Sports Installation of the Year Award – Single Field over 75,000 sq. ft.: Act Global – Mercedes-Benz Superdome

Sports Installation of the Year Award – Multi-Field: CHA Consulting, Inc. – Henrico County Glover Park

The 2019 STC Annual Membership Meeting will be held on October 21-23, 2019 in San Antonio, TX.